Music / TV

Things That NBC’s The Voice can do without.

So I’ve been a fan of the voice for 4 seasons now and I think we’re deep in this relationship where we can start pointing out flaws. So here we go.

1. Everyone’s got a damn sob story.

I realize we have to get background on the singers for the viewers, but do ALL of them have to be so damn depressing? And 9 times out of 10 they have NOTHING to do with them singing. This show is called THE VOICE! not True Life. I just don’t see the point of it if the judges don’t see who you are when you sing. Save that boo-hoo nonsense for American Idol or X Factor.

I watch this show because they can’t judge you on superficial stuff. Every time they begin the sad music I’m just like:

I honestly couldn’t give a flying fi-doodle about your past. One of the girls talked about how kids at her school made fun of her crooked teeth as her sad moment. I had to laugh at that because I was like really? That was your inspiration for you singing? I’m just imagining the producers asking her to dig deep for anything that would make you look sad. ugh

2. Christina Millian

Every time she shows up on my screen right before the commercial, I’m glad I have an extra minute to go to the bathroom, get snacks, etc. According to her Twitter, she is the Social Media Correspondent for The Voice, but we all know YOU AIN’T GOT NO JOB TOMMY! Why do they keep trying to make her a thing. IT’S NOT GONNA HAPPEN!

3. The Group Thinking/ Judges’ Peer Pressure

I’ve let it slide for the first two seasons, but now at Season Four it’s been really pissing me off. What I mean is when the chairs are turned around, the contestant is singing and the conversation goes something like “That’s all you” or “I’ll push mine if you push yours.” It’s like a freaking game of chicken in picking people.

For next season, they need to build barriers between the judges that will descend after the contestants are finished singing. That way the contestants can be chosen fair and square based on if they like them instead of “I picked you cause they pressured me to.”

If y’all on The Voice would do these changes, then the show would be much better as a whole.

What do y’all think?

One thought on “Things That NBC’s The Voice can do without.

  1. Pingback: If you can’t laugh at yourself… | Life as I know it...

Leave a Reply

